{I am a Woman}

women1

She was made weak for a reason, yet she is strong. She knows how to accommodate, yet she is capable. She knows how to listen, yet has a  mind of her own. She is not afraid to ask for help, yet she is knowledgeable. 

I am a woman.

My sexuality doesn’t define me.

When I was younger, I would always wear long skirts and say no to sleeveless tops. By the time I was in my teenage years, my cousins would tease me about growing up to be an old maid. During that time, I believed that a girl should not wear any clothes that shows their thighs or legs or anything that might attract boys. At some point up to my adulthood, I still find it awkward to wear low-cut tops. What will other people think?

 I am not who you think I am.

But then, I am NOT what I wear. The type of clothes that I feel like wearing for that day doesn’t define who I am. My worth as a woman doesn’t rely on the type of clothes I wear, on the way I talk, how I walk…much less on how I look. I, as much as everyone else, deserves respect, regardless of what I am wearing, how I talk or how I look.

She dresses up in shorts and tees. Wears hoop earrings and smears bright lipstick that enhances her beautiful smile. She puts her hair up in messy bun and you can see the confidence in her strides. She is young and vibrant and so full of life. Would you think otherwise and judge her style?

As a mother of a teen, I want my daughter to grow up to be a strong and independent woman. I want her to be able to express herself freely in the way she dresses, the way she talks, how she present herself or how she wants to look. I want her to know that her sexuality and outward appearance doesn’t define her. She can be as strong, as open-minded, as compassionate and giving as she wants. I want her to know that she can be who she wants to be. No one can tell her otherwise.

It’s not that she wants to be noticed. It’s just that she can be carefree and talk with so much pride. She can be different but that’s just her style. Will you look at her with judging eyes?

As a woman and a mother, we should raise our sons to be great men. One who knows how to value, respect and treat a woman. One who can see beyond the shape of a woman’s body, the clothes she’s wearing, how she walks and talks and how she looks. We need to teach them that all girls and women are worthy of such respect. Raising a society of great men who knows how to value women starts at home. Let’s raise them.

She is a woman.

Her  sexuality doesn’t define her.

She knows her worth. She knows her identity. She fights for her beliefs. She knows what she wants. She goes where she wants to go. She is a woman of courage. Worthy of respect.

It’s not more of values problems but rather of a society that devalues women. 

All good things,
Charina

2 thoughts on “{I am a Woman}

  1. Charina, your writing is so beautiful and full of depth. I hope you realize that and I hope your daughter does too and realizes what an important person you are to her (and to other women). Thank you for sharing your lovely thoughts with us! Sydney

    • Sydney, thank you for always having the time to read my posts and inspiring me with your comments. If only us women will always be there to support and encourage one another, can you imagine what we can accomplish and what positive influence we can leave on young girls around the world?

Comments are closed.