{hurting no one but God…}

hurtingGod

“In your anger do not sin”: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry,  and do not give the devil a foothold.  Anyone who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with their own hands, that they may have something to share with those in need.

  Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.  And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Ephesians 4:26-30 (NIV)

My heart is heavy. Heavy in the sense that, I know many times more than I want to admit it, I have offended God. I have failed to meet His expectations. Many times, I’d rather offend and hurt no one. Many times, I have done and said things to meet the expectations of others – even though I know that’s not what He expects from me – and hurt no one, but Him . This morning as I read Jeremiah 7, I cried. I cried tears of grief and sadness and yes, fear. I cried for my daughter. I cried for what our world is turning into. I cried for Him. Realizing how much could He was grieving and hurting for us.

I am not writing this post to condemn or judge no one, for judging is for Him and Him alone.

“There is only one Lawgiver and Judge, the one who is able to save and destroy. But you—who are you to judge your neighbor?” James 4:12

But…

Have you ever thought about it? How have we hurt God? Has it ever crossed your mind and heart if God does ever get offended when we choose to please everyone but….

Him.

“Do not quench the Spirit. Do not treat prophecies with contempt  but test them all; hold on to what is good, reject every kind of evil.” 1 Thessalonians 5:19-22

I am not perfect. I am a sinner. I have accepted God as my Savior. I know that I have been forgiven, accepted and love by Him….that I am a child of His.

As we were eating breakfast my daughter told me, “I know that I have asked and accepted God as my savior, but I feel like I should do more. What else can I do to be more closer to Him?

Aren’t we supposed to ask ourselves the same thing?

For God did not call us to be impure, but to live a holy life. Therefore, anyone who rejects this instruction does not reject a human being but God, the very God who gives you his Holy Spirit.” 1 Thessalonians 4:7-8

All good things,
Charina

