How Can We Measure Success?

“For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul?” – Matthew 16:26

Once a blogger, always a blogger! How I’ve missed blogging! Last night (or should I say this morning?), I woke up at about 2:30am and couldn’t fall back to sleep. And this idea of creating a website for my book and getting my own domain name keep popping in my head.

When I published my book, I thought it would be easy. It is not. I thought I would get all the support that I need. Imagine counting the chicks even before the eggs hatched? Now don’t get me wrong, maybe it was just that I expected so much from the people who I know. Imagine thinking…if a hundred of my friends or people I know bought a copy and share it to a friend, that hundred will grow and grow. It was not the case.

Am I disappointed, I would be lying if I said no. I was. I think it is every self published authors dream for their book to reach a certain level of popularity. But….

Is this the only way we can measure a book’s success? Money wise, no. Rating…no.

Making a difference even if it is only one person…Yes.

I have come to realized and accept that maybe this book is not a tool for me to be rich, famous and successful. It is a gift that God have given me to remind me of the close relationship we had at our most trying times. It is a proof not just for me but for others to see, that HE is in the midst of our every storm. It is a gift that I can leave to my daughter. It is a testimony of His greatness.

The purpose of life is not to be happy — but to matter, to be productive, to be useful, to have it make some difference that you have lived at all. ~Leo Rosten

All good things,
Charina

P.S. Please allow me to share with you all a few of the book reviews that I have received so far. These book reviews is worth more than the meager royalty I have received from the book sale. These are a gift that I will treasure. This is what makes it all worth it.

“I am enjoying this book so very much! I love how it is broken down into small easy to read sections. Often times, I find something in a book that is something I feel I should ponder, but get caught up in reading and plan to go back to the point it is illustrating, but don’t. At the end of each section I have the opportunity to reflect on what is being discussed . I love that I am reading thoughtfully and really getting the message. This book is wonderful!!”

“Finding God in the Ordinary” by Brooks is definitely a must read. The personal testimonies that are embedded within each page continues to motivate me to read more. As mentioned by the author, it is definitely a book that will help you through the good, bad, and the indifferent. I have thoroughly enjoyed it thus far and will recommend it to anyone of all ages!”

“As others have stated earlier, I also enjoy that this book is broken down into several small chapters with a notes page at the end of each chapter to write down thoughts, questions or important points. What I find very beautiful about this book is the way the questions posed in each chapter allows me to reflect on my own life and whether the answers I give to these questions align with the Word of God. There are many times in life where we cannot explain why God would allow such tragic or even wonderful things to happen. However, this book has helped me reaffirm my belief that no matter what we go through in life, God is always there helping and loving us along the way. It is clear that the author wrote this book based on her own experiences and has found peace knowing that she can find refuge in the Word of God.”

“This is an honest and real book about one woman’s walk with GOD, and her desire to encourage others in their walk. Each page comes from her heart along with the scripture that has helped and guided her trough her daily walk. I recommend it to all. May GOD bless her for stepping out in faith to help others in our ordinary lives.”

“I am enjoying reading this book. I like the way it was broken into short chapters. Perfect for a quick read first thing in the morning as food for thought on a journey of finding god. Great way to start your day with a focus on god and your personal relationship with God.”

“Inspiring …..can’t put the book down….very thought provoking.”

